Next generation of writers recognised at Whangarei Libraries on Oct 31


The winners of the 2016 Short Story Competition for Young Writers hosted by Whangarei Friends of the Library in conjunction with Whangarei Libraries have been announced.

The winners were announced at a prize giving ceremony on Monday 31 October in Whangarei. Winners received book vouchers and a share of $1000 prize money. Thanks WHG Friends of the Library for supporting the youngsters.

 15 to 18 years

1st: Abby Buckthought

2nd: Tikva van der Vlugt

3rd: Vaanipriya Diwan

Highly Commended:  Levi Cohen, Jessica MacMenigall, Devon Pomfrett.

 12 to 14 years

1st: Aimee Clernow

2nd: Ben Murray

3rd: Caitlin Morris

Highly Commended:  Kate Barrett, Hanna Ireson and Ronan Payinda.

9 to 11 years

1st: Jessica Liu

2nd: Keira Hardham

3rd: Ben Magee

Highly Commended:  Paige Cleaver, Anais Hall, Zoe Ireson.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s